About Me

Hello, my name is Jennifer Coll, but I prefer to be called Jenny. I have been around animals all my life, love spending time with them and decided from a very young age I wanted to work with animals.

When I was 12 years old I did my school work experience at a kennels and cattery and loved it. I was then lucky enough to get a weekend and holiday job with the kennels, which I did for a few years.

When I was 14 years old my family moved abroad and while we were there I was still very involved with animals. I rescued 2 dogs, 2 cats, a bird that I rehabilitated and released, and I had 3 horses. I also fed stray animals that were on the streets.

I was 16 years old when we came back to England and I carried on my studies with animals and went to college to study BTEC 1st Diploma Small Animal Care and passed. Then I got a job with DEFRA looking after the animals there.

 

I stopped working with animals when I had my children so I could spend some time with them. I wanted to get some more animal qualifications so I went back to college and did a National Diploma in Animal Management which I also passed.

While looking after my children and studying and working, I have always had animals and worked with them.

I have always wanted to do dog grooming but with young children I thought I would wait until they were a bit older. Last year I took my dog Laya to a groomer friend of mine and we groomed Laya together, which I thoroughly enjoyed as I have forgotten how much I missed and loved doing it. I went back to my friend to help on another day and then I decided it was time for me to follow my dream and do a dog grooming course. I found a Grooming salon that is also a school that I liked and the teacher and staff were very good so I started the course.

I have now passed the course and have my City and Guilds Level 3 in dog grooming and My First Aid for animals.

laya

Places I have worked with animals

  • Kennels and Catteries including grooming
  • DEFRA
  • Farms including lambing, calving, chickens and general farm duties
  • Rescue centres
  • I have always had my own pets

My Qualifications

  • City and Guilds Level 3 Dog Grooming
  • First Aid for Animals
  • National Diploma in Animal Management
  • BTEC 1st Diploma in Small Animal Care